ASSIGNMENT # 02
PRODUCTION/OPERATIONS MANAGEMENT (MGT613)
Khan Electronics is one of the leading electric appliances manufacturers in the country. Due to its unique business strategy after two every years it increases its range of products (product line). This year they are going to introduce LED TV in the market. They need new technology, skilled labor, equipments and cost effective manufacturing processes as they have to compete with multinational LED manufacturers. In the tight financial situation, the finance department is not ready to make full payment for the required equipment rather it suggested the procurement department to buy it on monthly installment. The procurement department estimates that the equipment can be purchase on lease at the monthly rate of Rs 1000000. Also they made an approximation that the variable cost can be Rs 5000 per LED and it will be sold at price Rs 45000 per LED TV.
Being at the managerial post in the Production/Operations department of Khan Electronics, you need tocalculate the followings:
1. How many LEDs will be sold out at breakeven?
2. What will be the profit or loss if the 500 LEDs are sold out in the one month time period?
3. How many LEDs to be sold out so that the company could earn the net profit of Rs 1000000?
1. The answer should be in mathematical form only and doesn’t need any theory. But it should also include formulas.
2. The assignment is non-graded and has “ZERO” weightage in course final grading.
+ http://bit.ly/vucodes (Link for Assignments, GDBs & Online Quizzes Solution)
+ http://bit.ly/papersvu (Link for Past Papers, Solved MCQs, Short Notes & More)+ Click Here to Search (Looking For something at vustudents.ning.com?) + Click Here To Join (Our facebook study Group)
shehroz and Nadeem plz confrm it wt is right ans
data is given so annual or net profit can be calculated
annual exp is 12000000
required net profit is 1000000
total is 13000000
Contribution / unit is 40000
Muhammad Nadeem can u calculate 235 plz shre calculation
its 325 not 235
net profit tu monthly bhi ho sakta ..
Nadeem brother i think that we have to convert the desired profit of Rs 10,00,000 to monthly if it is annual or we have to convert other given data on annual basis because all that is monthly.
The bottom line is that in requirement 3 just tell that what we have to calculate? Monthly sale units or annual sale units?
Reply plz then i'll provide the final solution
i think so, in assignment we should ANSWER the question with calculation according to data given, if ask, they are mentioned that the answer is in yearly or monthly. so that we should calculate according to the given date.
1-How many LEDs will be sold out at breakeven?
QBEP= FC/ (R-VC)
QBEP = 10,00,000/ (45,000-5,000)
QBEP =10,00,000/ 40,000
25 LEDs sold at breakeven
2-What will be the profit or loss if the 500 LEDs are sold out in the one month time period?
3- How many LEDs to be sold out so that the company could earn the net profit of Rs 1000000?
For P =10,00,000
Q = (FC+P)/ (R-VC)
Q = (10,00,000+10,00,000)/ (45,000-5,000)
Q = 20,00,000/ 40,000
Q =50 LEDs
If you can accurately forecast your costs and sales, conducting a breakeven analysis is a matter of simple math. A company has broken even when its total sales or revenues equal its total expenses. At the breakeven point, no profit has been made, nor have any losses been incurred. This calculation is critical for any business owner, because the breakeven point is the lower limit of profit when determining margins.
There are several types of costs to consider when conducting a breakeven analysis, so here's a refresher on the most relevant.
Setting a Price
This is critical to your breakeven analysis; you can't calculate likely revenues if you don't know what the unit price will be. Unit price refers to the amount you plan to charge customers to buy a single unit of your product.
One common strategy is "cost-based pricing", which calls for figuring out how much it will cost to produce one unit of an item and setting the price to that amount plus a predetermined profit margin. This approach is frowned upon since it allows competitors who can make the product for less than you to easily undercut you on price. Another method, referred to by David G. Bakken of Harris Interactive as "price-based costing"encourages business owners to "start with the price that consumers are willing to pay (when they have competitive alternatives) and whittle down costs to meet that price." That way if you encounter new competition, you can lower your price and still turn a profit. There are always different pricing methods that can be used.
The formula: Don't worry, it's fairly simple. To conduct your breakeven analysis, take your fixed costs, divided by your price, minus your variable costs. As an equation, this is defined as:
Breakeven Point = Fixed Costs/(Unit Selling Price - Variable Costs)
This calculation will let you know how many units of a product you'll need to sell to break even. Once you've reached that point, you've recovered all costs associated with producing your product (both variable and fixed).
Above the breakeven point, every additional unit sold increases profit by the amount of the unit contribution margin, which is defined as the amount each unit contributes to covering fixed costs and increasing profits. As an equation, this is defined as:
Unit Contribution Margin = Sales Price - Variable Costs
Recording this information in a spreadsheet will allow you to easily make adjustments as costs change over time, as well as play with different price options and easily calculate the resulting breakeven point. You could use a program such as Excel's Goal Seek, if you wanted to give yourself a goal of a certain profit, say $1 million, and then work backwards to see how many units you would need to sell to hit that number. (This online tutorial will show you how to use Goal Seek.)
There are several online calculators to assist you with your breakeven analysis:
It is important to understand what the results of your breakeven analysis are telling you. If, for example, the calculation reports that you would break even when you sold your 500th unit, decide whether this seems feasible. If you don't think you can sell 500 units within a reasonable period of time (dictated by your financial situation, patience and personal expectations), then this may not be the right business for you to go into. If you think 500 units is possible but would take a while, try lowering your price and calculating and analyzing the new breakeven point.
Alternatively, take a look at your costs - both fixed and variable - and identify areas where you might be able to make cuts.
Lastly, understand that breakeven analysis is not a predictor of demand, so if you go into market with the wrong product or the wrong price, it may be tough to ever hit the breakeven point.
How to Do Break Even Analysis
Break-even analysis is a very useful cost accounting technique. It is part of a larger analytical model called cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis, and it helps you determine how many product units your company needs to sell to recover its costs and start realizing profit. Learning how to do a break-even analysis is a matter of following a few steps.
1 Determine your company's fixed costs. Fixed costs are any costs that don't depend on the volume of production. Rent and utilities would be examples of fixed costs, because you will pay the same amount for them no matter how many units you produce or sell. Categorize all your firm's fixed costs for a given period and add them together.
2 Determine your company's variable costs. Variable costs are those that will fluctuate along with production volume. For example, a business that performs oil changes will have to purchase more oil filters if they perform more oil changes, so the cost of buying oil filters is a variable cost. In fact, because the company can expect to buy 1 oil filter per oil change, this cost can be allocated to each oil change performed.
3 Determine the price at which you will sell your product. Pricing strategies are part of the much more comprehensive marketing strategy, and can be fairly complex. However, you know that your price will be at least as high as your production costs (in fact, a lot of anti-trust legislation exists to outlaw selling below cost).
4 Calculate your unit contribution margin. The unit contribution margin represents how much money each unit sold brings in after recovering its own variable costs. It is calculated by subtracting a unit's variable costs from its sales price. Consider the following example using an oil change business.
The sales price of an oil change is $40 (note that these calculations will work equally well when expressed in other currencies). Each oil change has 3 costs associated with it: purchasing a $5 oil filter, purchasing a $5 can of oil, and paying $10 in wages to the technician performing the oil change. These are the variable costs associated with an oil change.
The contribution margin for a single oil change is: 40 � (5 + 5 + 10) or $20. Providing an oil change to a customer brings the company $20 in revenue after recovering its own variable costs.
5 Calculate your company's break-even point. The break-even point tells you the volume of sales you will have to achieve to cover all of your costs. It is calculated by dividing all your fixed costs by your product's contribution margin.
Using the example above, imagine all of your company's fixed costs for a given month are $2000. Therefore, the break-even point is: 2000 / 20 or 100 units. When 100 oil changes have been performed in a month, the company "breaks even."
6 Determine your expected profits or losses. Once you have determined the break-even volume, you can estimate your expected profits. Remember that each additional unit sold will produce revenue equal to its contribution margin. Therefore, each unit sold above the break-even point will produce a profit equal to its contribution margin, and each unit sold below the break-even point will generate a loss equal to its contribution margin.
Using the example above, imagine your business provides 150 oil changes in a month. Only 100 oil changes were needed to break even, so the additional 50 oil changes generated a profit of $20 each, for a total of (50 * 20) or $1000.
Now imagine your business provided only 90 oil changes in a month. You didn't achieve your break-even volume, so you sustained a loss. Each of the 10 oil changes under your break-even volume generated a loss of $20, for a total of (10 * 20) or $200.