We have been working very hard since 2009 to facilitate in your learning Read More. We can't keep up without your support. Donate Now.


+ Link For Assignments, GDBs & Online Quizzes Solution


+ Link For Past Papers, Solved MCQs, Short Notes & More

What Are The Five Pillars Of Islam? Very informative

      "بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم"      

                                      In the name of Allah (God), Most Gracious, Most Merciful   




                                                    What Are the Five Pillars of Islam? 




The Five Pillars of Islam are the framework of the Muslim life.  They are the testimony of faith, prayer, givingzakat (support of the needy), fasting during the month of Ramadan, and the pilgrimage to Makkah once in a lifetime for those who are able.


1.The Testimony of Faith:The testimony of faith is saying with conviction, La ilaha illa ALLAH, Muhammadur rasoolu ALLAH.  This saying means “There is no true god (deity) but God (ALLAH),1 and Muhammad is the Messenger (Prophet) of (ALLAH) God.”  The first part, “There is no true god but God,” means that none has the right to be worshipped but (ALLAH) God alone, and that (ALLAH) God has neither partner nor son.  This testimony of faith is called the Shahada, a simple formula which should be said with conviction in order to convert to Islam. The testimony of faith is the most important pillar of Islam.


2) Prayer: Muslims perform five prayers a day.  Each prayer does not take more than a few minutes to perform.  Prayer in Islam is a direct link between the worshipper and God.  There are no intermediaries between (ALLAH) God and the worshipper.


In prayer, a person feels inner happiness, peace, and comfort, and that God is pleased with him or her.  The Prophet Muhammad   said: {Bilal, call (the people) to prayer, let us be comforted by it.}  Bilal was one of Muhammad’s   companions who was charged to call the people to prayers.


Prayers are performed at dawn, noon, mid-afternoon, sunset, and night.  A Muslim may pray almost anywhere, such as in fields, offices, factories, or universities.



3) Giving Zakat (Support of the Needy):  All things belong to (ALLAH)God, and wealth is therefore held by human beings in trust.   The original meaning of the word zakat is both ‘purification’ and ‘growth.’  Giving zakatmeans ‘giving a specified percentage on certain properties to certain classes of needy people.’  The percentage which is due on gold, silver, and cash funds that have reached the amount of about 85 grams of gold and held in possession for one lunar year is two and a half percent.  Our possessions are purified by setting aside a small portion for those in need, and, like the pruning of plants, this cutting back balances and encourages new growth.

A person may also give as much as he or she pleases as voluntary alms or charity.


4) Fasting the Month of Ramadan:   Every year in the month of Ramadan,4 all Muslims fast from dawn until sundown, abstaining from food, drink, and sexual relations.

Although the fast is beneficial to health, it is regarded principally as a method of spiritual self-purification.  By cutting oneself off from worldly comforts, even for a short time, a fasting person gains true sympathy with those who go hungry, as well as growth in his or her spiritual life.





5) The Pilgrimage to Makkah:    The annual pilgrimage (Hajj) to Makkah is an obligation once in a lifetime for those who are physically and financially able to perform it.  About two million people go to Makkah each year from every corner of the globe.  Although Makkah is always filled with visitors, the annualHajj is performed in the twelfth month of the Islamic calendar.  Male pilgrims wear special simple clothes which strip away distinctions of class and culture so that all stand equal before (ALLAH) God.


Pilgrims praying at the Haram mosque in Makkah.  In this mosque is the Kaaba (the black building in the picture) which Muslims turn toward when praying.  The Kaaba is the place of worship which God commanded the Prophets Abraham and his son, Ishmael, to build.



The rites of the Hajj include circling the Kaaba seven times and going seven times between the hillocks of Safa and Marwa, as Hagar did during her search for water.  Then the pilgrims stand together in Arafa and ask ( ALLAH )God for what they wish and for His forgiveness, in what is often thought of as a preview of the Day of Judgment.

The end of the Hajj is marked by a festival, Eid Al-Adha, which is celebrated with prayers.  This, and Eid al-Fitr, a feast-day commemorating the end of Ramadan, are the two annual festivals of the Muslim calendar.


+ http://bit.ly/vucodes (Link for Assignments, GDBs & Online Quizzes Solution)

+ http://bit.ly/papersvu (Link for Past Papers, Solved MCQs, Short Notes & More)

+ Click Here to Search (Looking For something at vustudents.ning.com?)

+ Click Here To Join (Our facebook study Group)

Views: 153


You need to be a member of Virtual University of Pakistan to add comments!

Join Virtual University of Pakistan

Comment by MOHSIN RAZA on November 23, 2011 at 11:05am


Comment by ღ❤ Allah ki Bandi❤ ღ on November 22, 2011 at 8:20pm

hmm nice

Comment by Khizar Abbas on November 22, 2011 at 8:02pm



Comment by +6^6( RAPENZIL)+♦ *** on November 22, 2011 at 7:46pm

mashaa Allah subhan Allah nice sadia

Comment by shehnilla rani on November 22, 2011 at 7:45pm

nice jee

Comment by Shabbir Ali Jafferi on November 22, 2011 at 5:50pm

Subhan Alllah behna g

Looking For Something? Search Here


This is a member-supported website. Your contribution is greatly appreciated!

© 2020   Created by +M.Tariq Malik.   Powered by

Promote Us  |  Report an Issue  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service